Recent Reads

Hello all!

So this week I decided I’d share with you 2 books that I have (kind of) recently read, and really enjoyed. I would recommend these books to any teenager, and maybe even an adult. So here we go.

Goodbye Stranger
Author: Rebecca Stead
Published: August 4, 2015
Genre: Young Adult

It’s the beginning of seventh grade and Bridge, Emily, and Tab have a pact: no fighting. Bridge is an accident survivor who’s wondering why she’s still alive. Emily has new curves and an almost-boyfriend who wants a certain kind of picture. Tab sees through everybody’s games. Or so she tells the world. It’s also the beginning of seventh grade for Sherm Russo, and everything is different for him, too. When he gets to know Bridge, he wonders: what does it mean to fall for a girl—as a friend?

Meanwhile, on the approaching Valentine’s Day, an unnamed high school girl struggles with a betrayal. How long can she hide in plain sight?

This is a story about the bonds—and limits —of friendship.

After I hearing about Goodbye Stranger it via Ciao Bella (a great blog that I highly recommend to any book worm, baker or font lover), I couldn’t wait to start. I really enjoyed reading this Rebecca Stead novel, even as a high schooler. I was hesitant to read a book about middle school drama, but the novel address some great points about growing up.

I am Malala
Author: Malala Yousafzai & Christina Lamb
Published: October 8, 2013
Genre: Memoir

When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education. On Tuesday, October 9, 2012, when she was fifteen, she almost paid the ultimate price. She was shot in the head at point-blank range while riding the bus home from school, and few expected her to survive. Instead, Malala’s miraculous recovery has taken her on an extraordinary journey from a remote valley in northern Pakistan to the halls of the United Nations in New York. At sixteen, she has become a global symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest nominee ever for the Nobel Peace Prize. I Am Malala is the remarkable tale of a family uprooted by global terrorism, of the fight for girls’ education, of a father who, himself a school owner, championed and encouraged his daughter to write and attend school, and of brave parents who have a fierce love for their daughter in a society that prizes sons. I Am Malala will make you believe in the power of one person’s voice to inspire change in the world.

Although this one was a long read for me, I really enjoyed reading about Malala’s life. I have recently been loving memoirs, but back to the subject at hand. Overall, it was a great story, and very interesting. I haven’t read much about the middle east, and this memoir was quite inspiring (and now I want to travel there).

Would you like to know more about what I’m reading? Comment below some of your favorite books!

Keelin

If you want some good music to check out while you’re reading, check out these posts. And after reading Goodbye Stranger, you might wan to check out my last post to hear my own thoughts on growing up.

 

What are your thoughts?

